Dally M Awards 2022: Start time, how to watch, live stream, medal predictions, betting odds, who will win

Parramatta halfback Mitchell Moses has turned up the heat on St George Illawarra and Queensland Origin star Ben Hunt in the battle for the Dally M Medal.

Moses will look to break Parramatta’s 36-year premiership drought in Sunday’s grand final against Penrith and the Eels magician could go into the biggest game of his career with the NRL’s top individual gong hanging from his neck.

The NRL’s night of nights will be held in Sydney on Wednesday and Hunt is the raging favourite to clinch his inaugural Dally M Medal after a scintillating season with the Dragons and Maroons.

But Moses has stormed into Dally M contention on the back of a late-season burst that has propelled Parramatta into the first all-western Sydney decider against the Panthers at Sydney’s Accor Stadium.

Should he leapfrog Hunt, Moses would be the fourth player in Eels history to clinch the Dally M — joining Ray Price (1982) and two-time winners Peter Sterling (1986-87) and Jarryd Hayne (2009, 2014).

Eels coach Brad Arthur hopes his Parramatta general is recognised after piloting the club to their first grand final since 2009.

“It would be great for Mitch to win the Dally M,” Arthur said.

“I’m just so happy with the year he’s had.

“There’s a lot of great players in this competition and Mitch has been so integral to this team.

“He had a great finish at the back end of the season and his consistency this year is a huge reason why we are in a grand final.”

As the NRL world prepares for the unveiling of the 2022 Dally M Medallist, News Corp runs the rule over the Super Six contenders.

BEN HUNT (Dragons)

Somebody stop him. Hunt led the Dally M with 19 points when voting went behind closed doors after round 12 and the Dragons playmaker is the red-hot favourite to clinch the biggest honour of his turbulent career.

The former Broncos halfback continued his strong form at the back end of the season, buoyed by his superb Origin campaign for the Maroons, scoring the try which sealed Queensland’s epic boilover of the Blues in the Suncorp decider.

In unofficial voting after round 12, News Corp’s team of league journalists gave Hunt four man-of-the-match awards in the run home, including a best-on-ground display in the Dragons’ final-round defeat of the Broncos.

Hunt is aided by the fact the struggling Dragons lacked the star power of premiership contenders, enabling the crafty No.7 to dominate his side’s Dally M voting.


The dark horse for the Dally M. Moses (15) was four points adrift of Hunt when voting went behind closed doors, putting the Eels schemer in the perfect position to launch a late-season strike.

While Moses missed some games with injury, he was at the epicentre of Parramatta’s charge into the top four.

In unofficial voting, the classy No.7 polled points in five of the last eight games, including three man-of-the-match displays, completing a fine regular season with his carve up of the Storm in the final round.

Injury could prove his downfall, but don’t be surprised to see Moses stalking Hunt in the top five.


Hunt regards Hynes as the biggest threat to his hopes of scaling the Dally M summit and it’s hard to disagree.

The former Storm utility proved a sensation in his first season at the Sharks. When voting went secret, Hynes (16) was third, one point ahead of Moses and, like his Eels rival, the Sharks schemer seemed to get better as the season progressed.

In unofficial voting, Hynes claimed points in six games and on four occasions, he collected the Big Three, headlined by back-to-back masterclasses against the Tigers and Manly in rounds 22 and 23.

If Hynes doesn’t prevail, he could go agonisingly close as the runner-up and Cronulla’s best performer since Preston Campbell tasted Dally M glory in 2001.


A perennial Dally M contender, the Roosters’ patchy form for most of the year could cost ‘Teddy’ when it counts.

Tedesco was fifth with 14 points when voting went behind the iron curtain, but the Roosters champion was well placed to make a late charge.

The NSW Origin custodian was at the vanguard of the Roosters’ seven-match winning streak entering the finals, claiming three points three times in unofficial voting, including his final-round demolition of South Sydney.

But Tedesco may have left his run a little late.


What a player. The Mr Underrated of Penrith’s premiership juggernaut.

Edwards was equal seventh on 13 points, six adrift of Hunt, after 12 rounds and Penrith’s posse of class players invariably means a host of Panthers will be stealing crucial Dally M points off one another.

The ever-reliable fullback claimed unofficial voting points in five games, including three best-on-ground efforts, notably his hatchet job of the Green Machine in round 21.

A top-five finish would be fine recognition for one of the code’s most bankable performers.

ISAAH YEO (Panthers)

Shaped as the major threat to Hunt, positioned nicely in second spot with 17 points, two behind Hunt, when voting went secret.

But in unofficial voting, Yeo struggled to poll as Penrith’s classy playmaking spine of Nathan Cleary, Edwards, Jarome Luai and Api Koroisau stepped up to claim points in the back half of the season.

It’s always tough for forwards to win the Dally M and Yeo did remarkably well to poll so well so early in a star-studded team.


Who will win the 2022 Dally M Medal? It’s a question that will be answered on September 28.

It’s the most sought-after award in NRL and this year will be no different with a number of names tipped for the accolade.

Ben Hunt and Nicho Hynes are the front runners but with voting going behind closed doors after round 12, anything could happen.

Here’s what you need to know.


The 2022 edition of the Dally M will be held on Wednesday, September 28 at Randwick racecourse.


Fox League will broadcast the event on TV and you can also live stream on Kayo. Sign up here.


The event starts at 7:30pm AEST.


Up until round 12 – after which voting goes behind closed doors – Hunt was top of the leaderboard on 19 with Isaah Yeo second (17) and Hynes third (16).


It’s a 3-2-1 system with a judge assigned by the NRL to adjudicate each match in the 25 rounds of the season.

Three points is given to the player the judge deems to have been most impactful on the match or best on ground. Two points to second most and one point to third.

Whoever polls the most votes across the entire season is crowned the winner.


Any player suspended by the NRL judiciary has three votes taken off their total for each week of suspension.

Any player suspended for two or more matches in the same season is not eligible to win.

WHO WON IN 2021?

Manly’s superstar Tom Trbojevic capped off a strong season by being crowned Dally M Medal winner 12 months ago.


Provan-Summons Medal (People’s Choice)

Rookie of the Year Coach of the Year

Captain of the Year

Peter Frilingos Headline Moment of the Year

Ken Irvine Medal (Top Tryscorer)

Top Pointscorer

Try of the Year

Tackle of the Year